My Top 5 Albums of the Year!

It’s been a pretty good year for music- no complaints from me! I could easily do a top 10, 20- probably 40 albums of the year, but no-one wants to read that, so I’m sticking to top 5. Let me know your top albums of the year.

5. Kendrick Lamar- DAMN.

I’m sure this album’s on most top album lists. It’s got some great songs on it, and some really good features. However, for me it didn’t live up to the previous records, so it scrapes a 5th place.

4.Everything Everything- A Fever Dream

Again, this album had potential to be number one for me, but there’s some songs I find myself constantly returning to, but others I miss. Not as good as their previous album, but still really really really good.

3. Sampha- Process

This is an album I can’t really fault. It won the Mercury Prize award, so if you don’t trust me, trust that. It’s beautiful and touching yet catchy and listenable.

2. Lorde- Melodrama

I’m sure everyone knows this album. Literally every song is incredible, and I must’ve listened through a million times. I still need to catch Lorde on this album cycle because I can’t bare to wait another few years for the next one!

1. The XX- I See You

This was a toss up between The XX and Lorde, but I opted for The XX in first because the album came out in January and I still listen to it nearly every single day. The first two singles, On Hold and Say Something Loving are still as crazy good as in January and it’s an album I think I wouldn’t be wrong in saying, has shaped my year. I’m sure I’ll hear this record in ten years and there’ll be a million memories associated with it. LOVE IT.

Honourable Mentions- Arcade Fire, Everything Now; Paramore, After Laughter; St. Vincent, Masseduction

7 thoughts on “My Top 5 Albums of the Year!

      1. Totally! I actually like it much better than Pure Heroine, although PH did give me some stellar tracks, like A World Alone. What’s your fav Lorde song?

        Like

      2. I think pure heroine sounded better before melodrama came out and showed us a whole new level she can go to! I’d be torn between Team from PH or Writer in the dark/ Perfect Places.. too many to choose for only two albums! You?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hmm…GAHHH. I can’t choose a favorite! But if you ask me which songs I replay the most, it would probably be either Liability or A World Alone. Something about both those songs feel very personal and teenager-y.

        Like

Leave a comment